Shauntay Grant is a writer and performance artist from Kjipuktuk (Halifax, Nova Scotia). She served as the third poet laureate for Halifax Regional Municipality from 2009 to 2011. Her stage play The Bridge premiered in 2019 at Neptune Theatre and won a 2020 Robert Merritt Award for Outstanding New Play. An award-winning author of children's literature, Shauntay's picture book Africville with illustrator Eva Campbell won the 2019 Marilyn Baillie Picture Book Award, and was a finalist for the 2018 Governor General's Literary Awards, the 2019 Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children's Book Awards, and the 2019 Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotia Masterworks Arts Award. (click here to read more)

The Bridge published by Playwrights Canada Press

The Bridge available for pre-order from Playwrights Canada Press. Also available at Amazon, Chapters Indigo, and local bookstores.


Shauntay Grant wins Established Artist Recognition Award

Shauntay Grant is the recipient of a 2020 Established Artist Recognition Award from Arts Nova Scotia. The annual prize recognizes artists who have emerged from their initial training/development into established artists for their achievements and contributions.

Beyere commissioned for 21 Black Futures

Obsidian Theatre presents an anthology of 21 filmed monodramas commissioned from 21 multigenerational Black playwrights across the country, directed by 21 Black directors and performed by 21 Black actors. Premiering digitally in February 2021, 21 BLACK FUTURES will respond to the question, ​“​What is the future of Blackness​?” The 21 playwrights commissioned under the project are ​Peace Akintade​ (Saskatchewan), ​Keshia Cheesman​ (Calgary), ​Lisa Codrington​ (Toronto), ​Miali-Elise Coley-Sudlovenick​ (Nunavut), ​K.P. Dennis(Victoria), ​Cheryl Foggo​ (Calgary), ​Shauntay Grant​ (Halifax), ​Lawrence Hill​ (Hamilton), ​Kaie Kellough (Montreal), ​Stephie Mazunya​ (Montreal), ​Tawiah Ben M’Carthy​ (Toronto), ​Motion​ (Toronto), ​OmariNewton​ (Vancouver), ​Amanda Parris​ (Toronto), ​Joseph Jomo Pierre​ (Toronto), ​Donna-Michelle St.Bernard​ (Hamilton), ​Jacob Sampson​ (Halifax), ​Djanet Sears ​(Toronto), ​Luke Reece​ (Toronto), ​Cherissa Richards​ (Manitoba), and ​Syrus Marcus Ware​ (Toronto).

Join mailing list for latest news